A spontaneous expedition 

For starters this mini trip to Majorca was not really planned, let’s just say it was a “Last resort”. My friends and I were thinking of going with other people to Interrailing. But the people were taking a long time booking and the prices were also getting higher each day that goes by. So my friend and I decided to book a trip to Majorca instead. No plans whatsoever, I didn’t even hesitate as I was also desperate to get away from everybody. I just wanted to find solace in another alienated land. At the time, the stress from my A-levels was eating me alive and I was also going through a difficult time sorting my relationship with the people around me. So after paying for everything and all the bookings were sorted, planes, shuttle buses, accommodation etc. I still did not feel any excitement or sort whatsoever. However when that day finally came (1st of July 2015) I could feel the joy and my overwhelming emotion flowing through me. The excitement rushing in me was magical. My friend and I were also late we through we will miss the plane but luck was on our side.  
Luck on our side 



I guess luck was indeed on our side at the time. At first, my friend and I were having troubles managing our budget for Majorca as we did not bring enough money. My budget then was only €300 for 8 days and our hotel deal was also self-catering as we thought it would be cheaper if we eat outside rather than eating at our hotel. However when we got to our hotel the manager gave us an offer. For 2 nights and 3 days, we will be staying at their other hotel which is closer to the town, where the city life is. There will be breakfast and dinner in those days we are staying as well. My friend and I just looked at each other in shocked, and asked the manager “Do we have to pay?” And he simply answered, “No darling, It’s our promotion”. Right away we accepted his proposal although we had a millions of questions in our heads like “Why are they doing this?” Or “Is this their way of abducting Young British women for prostitution?”. Well, we were desperate too, we only thought of this kind of questions after accepting the offer. Who would say no to anything free these days anyways? Unless you’re the Kardashians, I mean saying yes to something free would hurt their ego. When we arrived at their hotel I looked around and saw an offer which says “Internet 3 dias por €12” so I thought that’s cheap and decided I’ll get it. I went to ask the Manager but she told me I don’t have to pay and she will just give it to us for free. For those 3 days, we simply got everything free. Lucky right?

Life at Magaluf




In those 3 days we had a taste of their city life, but to be honest there wasn’t really anything special when we got to the actual town, where we found people our age and where the restaurants were at. I was more excited about seeing different sceneries, the beaches not just a week of getting drunk in this foreign place. For 3 days I did not quite enjoy the town itself but I loved the company of my friend who would say yes to anything I would want to do. I was still quite new to the place and since I was the older one I had to lead the way and be the mature person. Remembering directions were easy to me that’s why we never got lost as I was quite good at remembering the way. We also went to the beach that was packed with a lot of people. I was genuinely disgusted with the dirt loitering around the waters of the beach. That’s when I lost my appetite of swimming, so instead we decided to just swim in our hotel pool.

Santa Ponca

 


After 3 Days we finally moved back to our actual hotel, although it was further compared to the previous one, I guess this hotel was better as it’s away from everything else and it does give you some alone time for yourself. The only thing that was difficult about the hotel is the fact it takes 30 mins to walk to the bus stop, waiting for the bus will also take a while which is, at least, 10-15mins and travelling from Santa Ponca to Magaluf will take 30-40mins as well. It may sound horrible as it seems to be wasting time travelling but I guess my friend and I did enjoy those long walks as we were able to get a closer look at the place itself.

Beauty of an estranged Land

 




Compared to Magaluf the beach at Santa Ponca is way cleaner, the water is crystal clear that you could literally see varieties of fishes roaming around the ocean. One thing I learnt is the place was also so open that we even did “Pool hopping”. We basically went to different pools of varieties of hotels around the place. They won’t even kick you out and they would just think you’re one of their customers honestly. The local people were also kind hearted, and of the things I won’t forget is how the lady at the shop gave me free plasters for the cuts all over my legs. A Little act of kindness like this actually made my day.

The beach was so beautiful I never got tired swimming every single day. It may sound ridiculous but I even bought myself some goggles so I would be able to clearly see underneath the waters. I was not a good swimmer myself but one thing I learnt on this trip is I was able to overcome one of my fears. Nothing will happen if you won’t do anything of your fears, so I took the opportunity and tried to swim even though I was scared to death. I thought we would all die one day, and why not make the most of it right?

Mini night trips

  

  


I really did enjoy this trip although there were a few problems along the way. I learnt how to be independent especially managing your own budget so that you will have enough money to last you for the whole week. I knew that I didn’t even have enough to last me for a week so my friend and I actually decided to buy our own ingredients at the market so we can make our own food at our hotel instead. Trust me it worked! We were actually able to save up some money, not just that but I was also able to buy souvenirs for my family and friends.  One of the things I loved in this small town (Santa Ponca) is the fact that they have their own nightlife as well, it may not be as busy as the one in Magaluf but I preferred this nightlife. I guess we were able to have a time for ourselves. Although we had a try of the nightlife at Magaluf for a few times, yes I have to admit it was fun but there were also traumatic experiences such as having no place to stay at 3 AM because your friends have the keys and you have lost them along the way. However, I preferred the night life at Santa Ponca, not just about the drinking life but more like watching the people trying their hardest to make a living as well as showing off their talents and passion for art itself. Overall it may sound disastrous but thanks to this trip it gave me the opportunity to experience a variety of things in life.

Leave a Reply

